brendan kellyBrendan P. Kelly is SEARCH Director and Chief Scientist. He is a Professor of Marine Biology with the University of Alaska Fairbanks’ International Arctic Research Center and a Senior Fellow with the Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey.  See full bio

Email:   |  907-209-6531

athena copenhaverAthena E. Copenhaver serves as Assistant Director of SEARCH. She is also a writer, editor, science communicator, and climate interpreter. She’s worked in the environmental and nonprofit sectors for nearly a decade and specializes in managing scientific research and strategic communications. See full bio

Email:   |  831-264-5201

Current SEARCH personnel

Evan BloomWilson CenterCo-Chair, International Cooperation & Economic Decision-Making
Athena CopenhaverInternational Arctic Research Center, University of Alaska FairbanksAssistant Director
Mallory HoffbeckMiddlebury Institute of International StudiesResearch Assistant
Marika HollandNational Center for Atmospheric ResearchCo-Chair, Drivers & Ecological Consequences of Arctic Change
Brendan KellyInternational Arctic Research Center, University of Alaska FairbanksChief Scientist, Executive Director
George KlingUniversity of MichiganChief Editor
Laura LandrumNational Center for Atmospheric ResearchProject Scientist
Elizabeth MarinoOregon State UniversityCo-Chair, Human Well-Being
Vera Kingeekuk MetcalfEskimo Walrus CommissionCo-Chair, Drivers & Ecological Consequences of Arctic Change
Jackie Qataliña SchaefferAlaska Native Tribal Health ConsortiumCo-Chair, Human Well-Being
Alex ShahbaziMiddlebury Institute of International StudiesResearch Assistant
Sarah TrainorUniversity of Alaska FairbanksCo-production Advisor
Francis WieseStantec, Inc.Co-Chair, International Cooperation & Economic Decision-Making

Recent SEARCH contributors

In the two decades since its inception, SEARCH has benefitted from a wide array of diverse experts contributing to Arctic and climate science, Indigenous Knowledge, and decision-making at local, national, and international levels.

Waleed AbdalatiUniversity of Colorado
Caspar AmmannNational Center for Atmospheric Research
Amy LovecraftInternational Arctic Research Center
Betsy BakerWilson Center
Edward Blanchard-WrigglesworthUniversity of Washington
Neysa CallU.S. National Science Foundation
Courtney CarothersUniversity of Alaska Fairbanks
Raychelle Aluaq DanielU.S. Arctic Executive Steering Committee
Casey DennehyNOAA Olympic Coast National Marine Sanctuary
Matthew DruckenmillerNational Snow and Ice Data Center
Hajo EickenInternational Arctic Research Center
Lisa EisnerU.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Andrea FisherUiT - The Arctic University of Norway
Jennifer FrancisWoodwell Climate Research Center
Jill GambillUniversity of Georgia
Randy GaunttSandia National Laboratories
Kevin GriffinLamont-Doherty Earth Observatory - Columbia University
Carling HayrisQ, Inc.
George HuntUniversity of Washington
Henry HuntingtonHuntington Consulting
Matt KingUniversity of Tasmania
Kit KovacsNorwegian Polar Institute
Leah BraithwaiteApplied Science for Environment and Climate Change Canada
Walt MeierUniversity of Colorado Boulder
Gifford MillerUniversity of Colorado Boulder
Twila MoonNational Snow and Ice Data Center
Sue NataliWoodwell Climate Research Center
Irina OvereemUniversity of Colorado Boulder
Ted ScambosUniversity of Colorado
Christina SchädelNorthern Arizona University
Edward SchuurNorthern Arizona University
Andrew SeitzUniversity of Alaska Fairbanks
Sandy StarkweatherU.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Fiamma StraneoScripps Institution of Oceanography
Trent SuttonUniversity of Alaska Fairbanks
Marco TedescoColumbia University
Kristy TiampoUniversity of Colorado Boulder
Erin TrochimUniversity of Alaska Fairbanks
Stephen VavrusUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison
Dee WilliamsU.S. Geological Survey
Gifford WongIDA Science and Technology Policy Institute